Coliseum Central (407) 816-8002 phil@coliseumofcomics.com

FOC 12.03.12

All New Metallic Superman by Frank Miller: I usually don’t get a lot of comments on statues or toys from my comic Illuminati but the voices have spoken and they find this generally ugly. Not a lot of fans for this one. Morbius Living Vampire: We’ll order this for Amazing Spider-Man as the 199.1 is basically Morbius #0. Should sell out of continued curiosity but don’t expect any long legs on this. We’ll miss the incentive by half; at least Marvel thinks this will sell better than it inevitably will. New Avengers: I’d rather have another week before ordering this so we can see how Avengers will do but NOW is the time to order books with no info. We’ll pull for fans of New Avengers, Avengers, and Fantastic Four. Hickman fans will jump on. Ordering at about 85% of Avengers but if Avengers blows out, I’ll Advance Reorder. Mars Attacks: Kiss: This is kitschy enough to sell to Kiss fans. Kiss fans have bought into the constant weirdity of Kiss stories so this one should be no different. Order like Kiss. Popeye: Popeye fans seem to be purists. I don’t see them gravitating to this and Mars Attack fans probably won’t be able to deal with Popeye in their comics. Could be fun but this one is gum and nuts. Ghostbusters: Could be a lot of fun. GB fans will likely be okay with this so order like a regular GB comic. Transformers: Middle of the road. Order like the lowest selling Transformers comic. Zombies Vs. Robots: Fun stuff that should appeal to Mars Attacks fans. Order like...

Monday Morning Tweaks 11.26.12

Before Watchmen: Moloch: #1 sold okay but it ended up as one of the lowest-selling BW books to date. Not the same appeal as the heroes. We may be witnessing the one-too-many book here. Ordering about 75% of actual sales on #1. Bob Wayne might be smoking the same old funnybooks that David at Marvel seems to smoke when considering this incentive. Catwoman: NOT DOTF so look to Catwoman #12 for sales guidance. Should have a VERY small bump from #12 as some will hang on for an issue or two. Hellblazer 298: The start of the final story arc. I don’t think this will be a huge sales bump but an extra copy or two isn’t crazy. Justice League: Aquaman cross-over part 1. Reis is on the art and though that’s a plus, it won’t jump back to Jim Lee numbers. Still a very strong seller. Ordering up a bit for Aquaman but most Aquaman fans are already buying JL. Nightwing: Die-Cut cover and the fans loveses them die-cut covers. Ordering like Suicide Squad sold, which is pretty sweet. Red Hood and the Outlaws: More die-cut. Lather, rinse, repeat. Supergirl: H’El on Earth gains some traction. Bumping a bit—15-20% Sword and Sorcery: Continues to tank. No big surprise. Ordering 10% less than what we sold on #2 to accommodate for the continued drop. Wonder Woman: Re-introducing the New Gods. New Gods haven’t exactly been a sales enhancer over the years but this will garner a small bit of attention. Looks like DC may tie the New Gods into Amazon mythology a bit. Makes sense anyways. 15% bump but...

FOC 11.26.12

Black Beetle Night Shift: Why is this coming out? Is there a hidden demand for this type of book that I’m missing? Does Blue Beetle not fulfill the beetle ration of heroes? You could skip this one and few would notice. Number 13: I like the premise but this one isn’t getting a lot of love here. One of the problems we’re seeing is with the explosion of successes coming out of Image, we’re seeing projects of questionable demand hitting the stands in droves. I feel that I can sell some of almost anything but now we’re down to ‘why’? Is it not better to order, track, and sell 10 titles than to sell 12 if the 10 will sell in higher numbers. We’ve seen massive attrition on titles like X-Men when they added a dozen variations on that theme, each with diminishing returns. So maybe being a bit more choosy about which independent titles we’re going to rack vs. those for subs only needs to be looked at more closely. Aquaman: Second printing alert! This is part 2 of a multi-part story that kicks off in Justice League. Better yet, it’s one of two books, including Justice League, coming out on the 26th. Order up at 75% of JL. Django Unchained: On FOC again. Not a good sign for a licensed book. Thinking cutting a bit from the original orders. JSA Liberty Files: Welcome to the New 52… in 1940? Sorry, but I’m not seeing a huge demand for this. WWII is no more current to most of our readers these days than the War of 1812 is....

Smiling Foes

News Flash! DC, Marvel, and all the other publishers AREN'T our partners and never were. DC was -- WAS -- always better at smiling while making their decision without input while Marvel openly made it clear that we're secondary to their own jobs. At least I could deal with that. I've always favored knowing where I stand over the conniving machinations of a smiling 'friend'. Options: 1. I'm supporting a lot of titles on the stands that could probably go away. Books like DC Universe Presents, Blue Beetle, Grifter, and Sword and Sorcery aren't paying for their space and could go to other projects. I always felt it was important to support a full line in my stores but now I'm thinking more about WHOSE full line do I want to promote. 2. We have an edge over digital as we carry 3 dimensional items like action figures and statues. We have options on which to carry. Being that brick and mortar is the ONLY real outlet for DC Direct items, maybe I need to rethink if I'm going to give them that space. I have options. Yeah, I know this is a slippery slope but if I'm not getting the primary products (y'know, comics) in parity with other platforms then I probably don't need to support that manufacturer's other endeavors. 3. We put out weekly newsletters, quick pick sheets, powerpoint slides, and put up posters promoting various projects from various publishers. One powerpoint slide can up sales by 50% in the store on a title. It's probably time to revisit who we're giving that prime billboard space to...